St Remigius Church. Click on it to enter the siteHethersett - A Norfolk Village on the Web

Site Links

Home Page





Big Society


Community Groups

Community Info

Green Village

Hethersett Links

Memorial Field



Parish Council


Sports Association

Sports Clubs

Village Facts

Village Comment

What's On




Archive News

Media Watch




Village Development




Open Weekend




Book of  Hethersett


Kett's Rebellion

Millennium Diary


Then and Now

Village History

Wartime Hethersett




Aerial Photo





Lost and Found

Personal Ads

Small Ads

Wanted and Offered




Comments about Site


In Memoriam

Looking for

Other Hethersetts

Poetry Corner

Safety Advice

Site Index



E-Mail this site



Achievement Evening

Pupils from Hethersett High School celebrated their achievements over the past year at a special presentation evening. 

Prizes at the Achievement Evening were presented by Deputy Headteacher Mike Masters; Year Heads David Day, Neil Stenton, Fraser Sparks and Lynsey Ward;  President of Hethersett and District Lions Club Anne Hackett and vice-chair of governors Clare Lacey-Hastings. Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Assistant Headteacher John Humphreys who was presented with a gift to mark his coming retirement after 29 years at the school. 

Mr Masters welcomed parents, governors and friends and praised the efforts of the youngsters, highlighting the success of pupils and particularly recent achievements in a national on-line writing and local high schools’ maths competitions. He also thanked sponsors of awards. Entertainment was supplied by Annie Floyd and Lily-Ann Reeve. 

“The students receiving awards richly deserve the recognition of all their hard work and community spirit,” said Consultant Headteacher John Catton in a foreword to the programme. Mr Catton was unable to attend the event due to a prior engagement. 

Year Seven Achievement Awards: The Ives Keeler Award for English, Callum Stirling; The APR Group Award for Mathematics, Leah Turner; The Bryce Award for Technology, Lyndsey Dorling; The Friends’ Award for Technology, Alexander Law; The Cooke Award for performing Arts, Joshua Moore; The Alexander Award for Humanities, Isobel Reed; The McCarthy Award for Languages, Phoebe Greasley. 

Year Eight Awards: The Anthony Award for English, Eleanor Ballie; The APR Group Award for Mathematics, James Cowan; The Triple Plea Award for Science, Hector Betteridge; The Virgin Money Award for Technology, Oliver O’Neill-Szkukalek; The Lacey-Hastings Award for Performing Arts, Libby Claxton; The Friends’ Award for Humanities, Isobel Staff; The Woodward Award for Languages, Aaron Jones. 

Year Nine Awards: The APR Group Award for English, Amy Wright; The Friends’ Award for Mathematics, Edmund Moylan; The Poole Award for Science, Joanne Reed; The Virgin Money Award for Technology, Charles Moore; The Bingham Award for Performing Arts, Hayley Argyle; The Norse Award for Humanities, Isobel Chambers; The Parents’ Cup for Languages, Jaideep Chopra. 

Year 10 Awards: The APR Group Award for English, Harry Loades; The Hope Award for Mathematics, Sam Comb; The Serendipity Award for Science, Louis Jaber; The Cole Award for Technology, Aaron Moralee; The Bingham Award for Performing Arts, Sassy Holmes; The Mangreen Trust Award for Humanities, Adam Lloyd; The Friends’ Award for Languages, Chloe Peterson. 

Headteacher’s Cups for Achievement: Year 7, Lucia MacMillan; Year 8, Aaron Jones; Year 9, Joanne Reed; Year 10, Sam Comb. 

The Governors’ Awards for Progress: Year 7, Owen Woodrow; Year 8, Sophie Beckwith; Year 9, Dominic Fowler-Shorten; Year 10, William Benstead. 

Community Awards: Hethersett District Lions Community Cup, Jessica Caswell; The ESPO Award for Service to the School, Esther Jones.