St Remigius Church. Click on it to enter the siteHethersett - A Norfolk Village on the Web

Site Links




Archive News

Small Ads

Personal Ads


Community Section

Parish Council



Village Comment

Comments about Site


Village History

Community Info

Then and Now




Sports Clubs

Hethersett Links


Village Facts

Book of  Hethersett

Millennium Diary

Other Hethersetts

In Memoriam

Wartime Hethersett


Poetry Corner




Weather .

Aerial Photo 

Hethersett Jottings 2005

E-Mail this site

Safety Advice 




Village Web Network





Cricket Club Celebration Evening

Above left Matt Ellis who was named player of the year and won numerous other trophies and above left Tony Wenham is congratulated on winning the Norfolk League Division Seven Batting Award by club president Duncan Pigg

Hethersett and Tas Valley celebrated the most successful season in the club’s long history at a special bonfire, fireworks and presentation evening at its Flordon headquarters. 

Members heard how the club won Division Two and Division Seven of the Norfolk League and the third team finished in its highest ever position in Division 10. In addition Matt Ellis was named Overall League and Division Two Batsman of the Year and Tony Wenham was Division Seven Batsman of the Year. The club was also runners-up in the Wensum Midweek Knockout competition and Broke Cup and reached the final of the prestigious Bernard Matthews Cup. The Under-15 team won seven of their nine games and finished a very close third in their league with Jack Smith winning the South Norfolk Community League batting performance of the year award for an innings of 74 not out. 

Next season the first team will be playing in the top section of the Norfolk League, the seconds will be in Division Five and the thirds will continue in Division 10. 

There was a special award for unsung hero Tony Smith to mark his outstanding off the field contribution to the club throughout the season. Prizes for the evening were presented by club president Duncan Pigg and proceeds from the event will go towards a new electronic scoreboard.

Above left Assad Abbas who was named Bowler of the Year and on the right Tony Smith receives his unsung hero trophy from Duncan Pigg

Awards were: Under-11s - batsman of the year, Joel Howard; bowler of the year, Mitchell Baldwin; most improved player, Harry Gibson; player of the year, Joel Howard. 

Under-15s – Batsman of the year, Jack Smith (195 runs at ab average of 48.00); bowler of the year, Joe Brett ( eight wickets at an average of 6.30); most improved player, Jordan; Coach’s award, Alex Bugg. 

Third Eleven – Batsman of the year, Jack Smith (276 runs at an average of 30.67); bowler of the year, Danny Whitworth (30 wickets at an average of 13.43). 

Second Eleven – Batsman of the year, Tony Wenham (496 runs at an average of 62.00); bowler of the year, John Smee (25 wickets at an average of 11.56). 

First Eleven – Batsman of the Year, Matt Ellis (842 runs at an average of 70.17); bowler of the year, Dave Cosford (18 wickets at an average of 13.28). 

Club Awards: Young player of the year, 1 Tom Brandon Street 2 Jack Smith 3 Joel Howard; Most Improved player, 1 Jack Smith 2 Assad Abbas; catching trophy (excluding wicketkeepers), Matt Ellis; catching trophy including wicketkeepers, Nick Burrett; Duck Cup (for most ducks - 8), Nick Burrett. Best performance of the year*, John Curtis and Jimmy Asdamson for first team partnership against Topcroft A; Unsung Hero award, Tony Smith; Player of the Year, Matt Ellis; Overall Bowling Award, Assad Abbas (57 wickets at an average of 17.00); Overall Batting Award, Matt Ellis (1,586 runs at an average of 63.44).

*- Top Individual Performances:


121 not out - Tim Shelley

114 - Tony Wenham

112 not out - Simon Redhead

112 - Matt Ellis

110 - Matt Ellis

108 - Jimmy Adamson

107 not out - Tony Wenham

100 not out - Matt Ellis

87 not out - Matt Ellis




6-23 Matt Steward

5-21 Assad Abbas

5-23 John Smee

5-27 Matt Steward

5-28 Assad Abbas

5-28 Dave Cosford

5-32 Matt Ellis

5-47 John Smee

5-51 Jack Smith