St Remigius Church. Click on it to enter the siteHethersett - A Norfolk Village on the Web

Site Links

Home Page


New Development

Olympic Weekend

Sports Association

Memorial Playing Field





Archive News

Small Ads

Personal Ads

Media Watch

Green Village

Lost and Found

Wanted and Offered


Community Section

Parish Council



Village Comment

Comments about Site

Looking for

Village History

Community Info

Then and Now




Sports Clubs

Hethersett Links


Village Facts

Book of  Hethersett

Millennium Diary

Other Hethersetts

In Memoriam

Wartime Hethersett


Poetry Corner




Weather .

Aerial Photo 

E-Mail this site

Safety Advice 




Village Web Network


School Celebrates GCSE Success

Hethersett High School and Science College held its GCSE prizegiving and presentation evening with arts consultant, theatre director, actor and playwright Joseph Ballard the guest of honour. Mr Ballard urged pupils to “follow their dreams.” 

The Governors’ Trophy for Outstanding Achievement was presented to Luisa Zuppardi-Smith for gaining 12 A star grades. Luisa is now studying for A levels at the Notre Dame School in Norwich. 

The Headteacher’s Cup for Outstanding Service to the School and Community went to Alice Corina who, in her role as Head Girl, represented the school at planning meetings for the visit to Hethersett of the official London 2012 Olympic flame. 

The Hethersett Lions’ Award for Community Service went to Josh Worley, a founder member of the community radio station South Norfolk Youth Action which was established to give young people the opportunity of being involved in broadcast media. Josh was also a torch bearer in the build up to the London Olympics. 

The Darren Hendry Cup for Outstanding Progress went to Holly Comb for exceeding her target grades by 12 levels. 

Subject Trophies were presented to the following: Norwich Schools Sports Partnership Award for Boys, Charlie Larwood; Norwich Schools Sports Partnership for Girls, Sophie Rock; The WEA Cup for Art and Design, Emma Bunn; The Norwich Union Cup for English, Luisa Zuppardi-Smith; The David Kitchen Cup for Mathematics, Clement Moylan; The Van Zeller Cup for Triple Science, Ethan Frosdick; The Falcon Acoustics Cup for Performance in Music, Megan Taylor; The Kate Onslow Cup for Contribution to Music, Joshua Davis; The Lee Thompson Cup For Football, Lucas Anthony; The Rippon Cup for Information Technology, Hollie Hutchings; The Friends of Hethersett High School Cup for Geography, Rebecca Frost; The Friends of Hethersett High School Cup for History, Stephanie Schiller; The Suzanne Griffiths Cup for Modern Languages, Alice Corina; The Matthews Cup for RE, Sophie Cooke. 

The following special subject awards were presented: Effort and Progress Awards – Art and Fine Art, Hannah Carpenter; Child Development, McKenna Brown; Citizenship, Josh Worley; DT Resistant Materials, Ryan Pell; DT Food Technology, Georgia Gooch; English, Jade Quantrell; French, Megan Edwards; Geography, Mollie Ford; History, Zoe Meadows; Mathematics, Robert Stocks; Religious Education, Catherine Gibbins; Science Double Award, River Morris; Triple Science, Laura Waterman; Applied Science, James Lovatt; Spanish, Megan Varney; College Land Based Operations, Paul Page; Young Apprentice Construction, Reece Crowe. 

Outstanding Achievement Awards – Child Development, Nadine Gage; Citizenship, Luisa Zuppardi-Smith; DT Resistant Materials, Shone Jackson; DT Food Technology, Brooke Friend; College Hair and Beauty, Charlotte O’Connor; Young Apprentice Health and Social Care, Nancy Bussey. 

The evening also featured musical interludes from Hayley Champion (vocalist), the Hethersett High School Drum Club and school rock band The Extras.