St Remigius Church. Click on it to enter the siteHethersett - A Norfolk Village on the Web

Site Links




Archive News

Small Ads

Personal Ads


Community Section

Parish Council



Village Comment

Comments about Site


Village History

Community Info

Then and Now




Sports Clubs

Hethersett Links


Village Facts

Book of  Hethersett

Millennium Diary

Other Hethersetts

In Memoriam

Wartime Hethersett


Poetry Corner




Weather .

Aerial Photo 

Hethersett Jottings 2005

E-Mail this site

Safety Advice 




Village Web Network





Evening Went With a Bang


Assad Abbas - First team bowler of the year Matt Ellis - Player of the Year

Tim Shelley - Batting Performance of the year Sean Barker - Bowler of the Year

Hethersett and Tas Valley Cricket Club members braved the cold and torrential rain for a fireworks display and prize presentation evening at their Flordon headquarters. 

Chairman Tony Smith reported on “the most successful season in the club’s long history” which had seen the first team win the Norfolk League first division title to gain promotion to the third division of the Norfolk Alliance. 

In addition the club won the Wensum Knockout Cup, were runners-up in the Norfolk Junior Knockout Cup and reached the semi-finals of the Kimberley Cup. The Under-16s had won an inaugural Under-16s Knockout tournament and the end of season super sixes had once again provided an enjoyable day. 

During the season a new electronic scoreboard had been installed and a lottery grant had allowed new practice nets to be put into place. 

Matt Ellis was named player of the year for outstanding performances in the first team with both bat and ball and brother Richard Ellis won the prestigious clubman of the year award for his work behind the scenes as well as on the field of play. There were bouquets for the ladies who provide teas and help to clear up throughout the season.   

Clubman of the Year Richard Ellis with club chairman Tony Smith

The following awards were presented: Under-11 player of the year, Adam Race; Under-13 player of the year, Joel Howard; Third team bowler of the year, Joe Brett; third team batsman of the year, Tom Brandon-Street; Second team bowler of the year, Dave Austin; second team batsman of the year, Rob Mitchell; First team bowler of the year, Assad Abbas; First team batsman of the year, Matt Ellis. 

Fielding Cup (excluding wicketkeepers), Matt Ellis; Fielding Cup (including wicketkeepers, Nick Burrett; Most improved player, Ross Jones; Best bowling performance, Dave Bellchamber; Best batting performance, Tim Shelley; Duck Cup for most ducks, Alex Reeder and Joe Brett; Overall Bowling Cup, Shaun Barker; Overall Batting Cup, Matt Ellis; Player of the year, Matt Ellis; clubman of the year, Richard Ellis; Young player of the year, Joe Brett. Tea of the year award, Carolyn Smith.

Below are some more presentation photos from the evening. Click on them to open larger images: